The first day

I've never slept the night preceding my guiding (in these courses). This was no exception to the rule. Except that I did sleep until 1am - yet I was all awake after that.

Nervous, scared, disgusted, you name it. I had 'em all. I hated the feeling. No, didn't want to be the first to guide. That's the hardest part - or so I thought, yet how wrong could I be?

Wake-up at 7am (for the rest), breakfast at 8 and we were on the skies at 9am. Unfortunately one of the sledges were not tested beforehand and it had to be fixed, thus we were ready to go half an hour late.

A foggy day. I've never before left a route on a fog like that. Later, one of the trainers said that he'd never take the customers off a track on a weather like that. But, we were on an advanced hiking guide course - there was no weather to stop us from going.

Not knowing the environment can make a big difference on how much effort does it make to finish a leg. Again, same lesson - take your time to familiarize with the route. Ask from locals. The trainer's new but I, as a guide of the day, didn't. And then there we were, 3km of skiing on a knee-deep snow (with the skis).

We arrived to the first cottage around 7pm. Two hours for making ourselves home, feed and comfy and we started to discuss the day. Not too positive feedback on my day. Yet again, I don't remember anything special negative either.

The whole day just felt so unnatural.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.