Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

H 2 and 0

I had a lot to say tonight after seeing all the Japanese footage of the tsunami but I am struggling for the correct words.

I want to write about the state of the world as is seems to be changing it's axis and heading for an era of massive unsettlement . Natural disasters and political uprising unfold on our screens on the scale of some Hollywood movie but sadly this is all too real.

How many of us can seriously affect change. I am sure there will be some that can and will give up work to do voluntary service overseas, there will be some who donate huge amounts of money but what does the man in the street do?

I am unsure what we can actually do and sometimes I think maybe it's about respecting and honouring our freedom our health and our safety and be grateful for what we have and just being happy as much as we can.

I have written similar musings before and I don't want to sound like I am in a pulpit giving a sermon ( I SO don't suit a dog collar). Like I say I have not got the words right here at all.

So the little things that I am grateful for today are :

1: Work went really well, today was in my other area of work and it was busy and we all felt a good day's work was had by all ( tempered with some giddy photo shoots to try and get a Blippable work photo: we failed, let's just say that me in a uniform is never going to sell paintings!)

2: Running club at the girl's school was energising, the kids really don?t mind running about in the wet which makes me wonder at what age we start moaning about " looking like a drowned rat ". There is an opportunity for me to take over from the current club leader when she goes in a few weeks. It would be a great challenge as if we don't get a new leader then the running club will fold.

3: It's the weekend and time for two lie ins. Just about to chill when the girls go to bed. I am on day three of giving up wine for lent, something of a Lenten record for me ( this is bearing in mind that I also gave up wine for my race training for six months and lasted about two weeks !), this means that I am having a huge glass of sparkling water. Rock N Friday Night Roll

Water: the source of life, but also the source of terrible tragedy.

I took this picture to remind me of water's simplicity but also it's complexity

Now then.. this blip seems to be ending on a low point so I shall send a big

Smiley Hello
at you
xx
oh and PS thanks for the spotlight page yesterday. No idea how that works or if someone recommended it but they say you never forget your first time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.