The Daily Bun

By pennybun

A little taste of heaven

On my profile, I bill myself as a wild foodie, so about time I blipped some evidence. Anything that is collected from the wild to form the basis of something to eat or drink gives pleasure in 3 ways: firstly in the collecting, secondly in the making, and thirdly in the consumption. in the case of sloe gin, it's the autumn day when I go foraging for fungi early in the morning with a friend, and we pick sloes before going for a late breakfast at Grindleford cafe, then pricking the sloes, covering them with gin, and sugar, and as the days and weeks pass, giving that daily shake that dissolves the sugar and causes the colour to change from clear to ruby, and finally that taste on the tongue of the warming, bitter-sweet liqueur. Heavenly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.