Snow...again!

In my blip yesterday, when there was no snow on the ground and rain was falling, I wrote, "Snow, possibly a lot of it, is predicted for tonight and tomorrow." You can tell from this picture that is exactly what happened. The temperature hovered at right around the freezing mark, and we got between 8-10 inches of snow. It started at about 7:30 in the evening and stopped shortly after I took this picture at 2:40 pm. When we went to the park, we knew we wouldn't get far because the trails wouldn't be cleared. They weren't, and more than that, I don't think anyone had been on the trails before we got there. The only tracks I saw were deer tracks.

As usual, I was carrying my bag of bird treats, but this time, instead of birds, it attracted deer. These two were part of a little herd that magically appeared when they saw me carrying the bag. The little one on the right is, I think, a very young buck. If you look at it in large , you can see where the nubs of his future antlers are beginning to grow. He was so hungry, he came within six inches of me, and of course I spilled some peanuts onto the snow for him. He followed me closely until I got back to the parking lot, and I scattered peanuts for him several more times. I think he and the other deer must have been confused by the amount of snow that fell so quickly, completely covering the ground and their food supply.

That was our weather event for the past 24 hours, but it fades into insignificance compared to the terrible earthquakes and tsunami in Japan and beyond. My prayers are with all the people who were affected by that overwhelming experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.