CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The streets of our town

I have been lying low today. Helena suggested we get the special offer of two-for-one 'fish-and-chips' from the re-opened take-away on Nelson Street.

I lit a fire, then we drove into town and parked just up the road.

It was chaotic, on a Saturday night in a small back street of Stroud. People queueing, others standing outside the pub smoking, cars parking and waiting for the temporary traffic lights. The rain on the windscreen distorted the lights.

I played with the camera in the car, while Helena went in to the 'Big Fish'. This is what I am reduced to. I wish i had noticed the yellow brolly when I took the shot, as I find it is the best bit.

Helena returned with two huge haddock fillets, but not from the 'Big Fish', but the other chippy, three doors further down. I am so seldom out and about at times like this, that I am constantly surprised at what goes on in a sleepy west country town

nb
"The streets of our town' is a fine track by the great Go-Betweens from Australia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.