CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Beside the Thames and Severn Canal

We went for a short walk about two miles up the Golden Valley, with the sun shining and the chill air warming. I parked in the narrow entrance to St Mary's Mill, where the access road crosses the railway at Brimscombe St Mary's level crossing.

The young signalman came out of his small elderly box beside the track for a chat and told us he lived in Newport, South Wales and drove here each day for his twelve hour shift! He showed us the equally old signal system, which also controlled the level crossing's gates, which are grade two listed structures. It was in a small purpose built wooden box, and inside there were dials and bells, and two massive brass keys, which are the failsafe system. I would have blipped them but wasn't sure there would be enough interest in railway equipment ephemera. This is where I should use a fFlickr account.

We went then to the old mill which is a wonderful old building, used as offices now, but retaining a massive iron waterwheel to harness the energy from the River Frome flowing beneath it. I poked my head against the dirty glass and tried a shot of the wheel but it was very poor. I shall come back in the summer when there will be a guided tour of the industrial archaeology of this valley, and the mill will be open to let us view the wheel.

The valley bottom here is about one hundred yards wide and contains the old turnpike road, the twin track railway with level crossing, a bridge over the canal and the river beside it, and then the large mill and yard next to its owner's house. Unfortunately I had a the wrong lens with me and couldn't get a wide-angle view to show the location.

We walked along the Thames and Severn Canal from St Mary's Mill, Chalford, towards Brimscombe, running next to the fast flowing river, where I saw several large trout. It felt good to be walking in the sun and I commented to Helena how lucky we are to visit so many beautiful spots so close to home. On the return leg, the ducks on the canal had been very frisky and one had taken off from the water right beside us. My blip though is of three ducks flying nearly over head along the line of the canal. I only had time to react and point, and I'm amazed that I managed this shot, in true Peter Scott style.

I have put some of the other pictures HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.