CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

I needed some colour today

I managed to get home early enough to take my camera into the garden this evening. It was quite warm too, although the grey clouds cast a dull light. Helena came and showed me some unusual interesting pine cones she had found on her way home from work along the canal towpath. I tried to photograph them but it needs a bit more forethought, which was not possible tonight, given my already tired frame of mind.

I took the Amaryllis plant outside to show you how the dead flowers have completely transformed, with only one out of the four flowers on each of the two stems producing a seed pod. But it was a very dull picture, so I have spared you that.

Bomble was pleased to see us outside and ran about playfully, leaping onto fences and a shed roof, before skulking off to chase shadows.

I then spotted this shrub coming into flower, one of the very first displays of the year. I am ashamed to say that I have no idea what its name is, but I am sure someone will help me out. I switched to flash and took this picture in fully automatic mode, but have cropped the image to show the one flower bud in focus. It seems to be covered in pollen.


ps
Stephen R. sent me an email today, with a link to Channel 4 News from last night, where he was interviewed at Heathrow after arriving back from Tokyo. He works for a Japanese company and his wife is Japanese, although he mostly now lives in Hampshire. He admitted to being very relieved to be back. While he was waiting at Norita airport yesterday, the ground was still shaking with intermittent quakes. Worrying times for that country.

We have also heard from Helena's sister, with a long report of what is happening in Bahrain. We wish Tanya, Nicky and their daughter, Immy, well. It doesn't sound too good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.