fovea centralis

By fovea

guitar

Self-portrait! Always harder to capture than I remember.

Today was a fantastic Saturday! Started some impromptu guitar lessons yesterday. I have always wanted to learn. It is a great skill to have for mental awareness, coordination, and listening pleasure. I am considering a surgical residency for my future, maybe. And having additional dexterity and strength is always a good thing. So, since I sold one of my bikes on craigslist recently, I had some extra cash burning a hole in my pocket. I found a great deal on a little beginners guitar kit and was sold. Now, instead of just strumming along the strings when I feel like hearing an acoustic, I will, hopefully, know how to play a little.

I am starting slow. Strings, Notes, Scales (majors), but actually I already know two chords: E minor & C. I have found that I am retaining the information quite readily, the hard part is controlling my finger placement. Luckily, I got a "Varigrip" finger strengthener-exerciser thing. My left hand is a touch weak, but I should soon whip it into shape.

Saturdays are wonderful. I also enjoyed a great bike ride along the trinity river this afternoon. I hope your Saturday has been just as enjoyable.

cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.