Deja View

By dejaview

Obsessions

I am undoubtedly the sort of person who develops obsessions.....blipping for example! One of my longest running obsessions though is: washing! Ask any member of my family and they will verify this strange trait in my nature.

I think it stems from watching my Mum hang the washing out on a really high washing line, I was allowed to pull the pulley like contraption to make the washing go even higher to catch the wind. I just love watching it blow and I love the smell. My Grandmother used to say: 'you can tell a lot about a person from their washing!' I'm not sure what people would tell about me or the person who's washing Caged Bird blipped last week!

Being a teacher means you have a long wait to see what you have achieved..if anything! Children take small steps towards understanding, and when you teach young children they are with you for a year and then they move on, it is a luxury to see the finished 'product!' Some of my ex-pupils have kept in touch and it is wonderful to see what they have done with their lives, and think maybe I played a very small part in their development.

With washing the achievement is quick and measurable! Take a pile of dirty washing, put it in the washing machine, hang it outside (weather permitting) to dry, iron it = job satisfaction! My grandson has had 2 sleepless nights because of teething, consequently my daughter is lacking sleep too. So today I was able to go and sort the washing, Gramps played with Harry, daughter got some rest everybody is happy! I could merge two of my obsessions by blipping the washing! Thank you all of you who wished Harry better, he is MUCH better today but still no new tooth!

Tomorrow it's teaching again and I suppose if I'm honest that's a bit of an obsession too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.