The way I see it.

By christinePears

The Old and the New

I travelled back from Inverness this afternoon and the weather was just foul! Sleet, snow, high winds but luckily the temperature was above freezing so the roads were fine. Very few blip opportunities so in desperation I turned up a side road on my way into my village. The best I could do was wind down my window and get this shot of a ruined farm steading with a wind farm in the background.

Caithness stone slabs are quarried in this region and you can see that they have been used to make the fences and also instead of slates on the roof. The old building is also made of Caithness stone. These old building were made of naturally occurring materials contrasting with the windmills. Many people don't like wind farms as they regard them as a blot on the landscape but I have got to admit that I think that there is something almost graceful and fascinating about them. They usually are on otherwise barren bits of moorland and I am always very grateful when I see them on my return form Inverness as I know that I am just a few miles form home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.