Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Not Waiting For The Sun To Rise Today

While the rest of the country had to wait an extra hour this morning for the sun to rise due to the beginning of daylight savings time, those of us in Arizona didn't have to adjust.

This is what the sky looked like around 6:30 am MST. We are always on standard time.  During the Spring and Summer, that puts us three hours behind the east coast.  During the Fall and Winter, we are two hours behind, because every part of the country is on standard time.

I like being on standard time year round.  I get up early.  Today it was about 5:45.  I go to bed at a decent time...usually after the evening weather forecast...10:15 pm.  I have a DVR so if there are any late television shows I want to see, I record them.  Cable shows are now on an hour earlier than before, so prime time begins at six or seven o'clock.

And the best part of all, is that I can get up even earlier in the summer to see the magnificent sunrises, take a walk and run errands.  Because by June in southern Arizona, you want to be back in the house by nine o'clock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.