lighter all round

Until the snow kicked in last year and I fished out my all-weather bicycling gloves I was able to get away with the thinnish stretchy gloves I'd bought for cold-weather camera-operability a few years ago when existing gloves started to fail. During the winter a few of the fingers have worn through, handy for wearing whilst walking when touchscreen portable telephones occasionally need to be operated but less useful when travelling at speed. It's already far too warm for all-weather bicycling-gloves (which are only a bit shy of cheap snowboarding-glove insulativity) but I didn't have anything else with which the fingers of the thin and stretchy but hole-ridden gloves could be doubled-up to keep my fingers warm and pain-free. After a couple of months of reading reviews, trying on in shops and umming and aahing I bought these a week or so ago, reasoning that during anything but pitch blackness the colour would be handy (especially at dawn and dusk) and that the lighter weight would mean use during more of the year than just the snowy and frosty bits. For some reason it always feels like my index finger isn't heading down the right hole when putting them on but they otherwise work well, feeling as if they might almost get cold when first heading out but soon warming up and suffering from zero windchill no matter what the ground or windspeed. Unfortunately there's buggerall padding in them but my slightly-too-large latest pair of padded fingerlesses fit snugly atop them, leaving the fingers free for slightly-raised-visibility signalling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.