Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Big Ben's Little Cousin?

The last time I featured this Symi landmark was in this December Blip but I think it's at its best in the daytime.

Someone once told me that the design of Symi's clocktower is based on that of the tower that houses Big Ben. I have no idea how true this is. It could well be one of the many romantic stories that people like to tell about Symi which has no basis in reality but having just looked at some images of the Houses of Parliament and in particular the clock tower, maybe this story isn't entirely the product of somebody's overactive imagination. Sometime, if I get the chance, I'd like to take a shot of it from a stationary boat or with a more powerful zoom so that you can see more detail.

The big white building to the left, houses the police station and the post office, just in case you were wondering (although you probably weren't!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.