Journey Through Time

By Sue

Japanese Lunch

I brought home some California Rolls from the store today. The people of Japan probably don't actually eat this particular flavor of sushi, but I like them the best, so went with what I like. The tray was my mother's, which is from the 1950's, I think. The fan was given to my mother-in-law from her nephew, who is a Marine and stationed in Okinawa. We inherited it after she died. The little gold necklace was given to me by good friends of my mother's. In the early 1960's they went to Tripoli, Libya to work and they sent it to me when I graduated from high school. On the back it has my name in Arabic, and my graduation date. So, I have objects from two of today's news makers.

This photo didn't come out all that well, but too late to set it up again, because I ATE the sushi!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.