Unnatural Vision

By nickm

Birthday Cake

Tuesday 15th is my lovely flatmate Simon's birthday. I can't tell you how old he is or you'll never see me again... let's just say this year he'll be thirty-twelvety-four and doesn't look a day over thirty f- uh... twenty one.

*cough*

Anyways, I'm working a late shift on his birthday and the day after, then he's away, then I'm away, so we won't get to see each other again til nearly the end of the month. So tonight I cooked him a nice dinner, we watched our favourite TV programmes (I beat him at University Challenge - it might be his birthday but I'm not letting him win) and then it was time to surprise him with presents and cake.

As luck would have it, our upstairs neighbour knocked on the door just as I was about to sneak in to the kitchen, take all the candles out the packet and light them so whilst Simon was distracted I quickly tried hacking in to the plastic and cardboard packaging with a pair of scissors, eventually just ripping it open with my hands, and then rushed to get the candles on before he came back in... which is why the 'Birthday' part is a bit wonky.

Still - cake is cake, and we've nearly polished off the entire thing.

Happy Birthday sausage, no one carries off thirty-twelvety-four like you can! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.