horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Bachi

... or Japanese Drumming Sticks.

Week 9 of the Taiko Drumming class tonight, and the heid honcho is coming to see how we're doing. Next week is a dress rehearsal at the Dojo (I feel like Karate Kid) before, a week on Friday, the big performance at Drumfest (in the bright lights of East Kilbride). So a 'drum' was set up in my office today for a little bit of practice.

I've not been able to do much till now cos of ongoing rib-issues, but everything feels like it's slowly clearing up, so I've been able to swing the Bachi in anger. It helps that the whole thing is based on rhythyms that I've been repeating over and over to myself despite not being able to play properly (except in the classes, grin and bear it). I find riding to and from work on the bike is the perfect time to go through it all.

All takes my mind off the fact that the weather is still utterly awful so I've still not had a chance to play with the new lens bought yesterday. Pah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.