Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

Looking out on my world

This is the view when I draw back the curtains every morning. I check the weather and then the water level. The light is best at this time of year, before the trees are in leaf and my world turns green!

The pond is in an old claypit, it only fills when there is a significant amount of rain. This winter it didn't have any water until January. Now there are frogs - no spawn yet, and over the last few days there have been mallard. It's always a worry because as it is seasonal, the pond can dry up before the froglets leave the water. We're hoping for more rain soon.

The cottage was built for the estate brickmaker 150 years ago, when the model farm and the big farm were built, I'm assuming at the begining of his career, as it is mostly constructed of wood and plaster!! It teeters on the edge of the claypit with large cracks caused by subsidence as it moves ever closer...

So if this journal suddenly ceases, you'll know why!!

PS I love the handles on the windows, here is another one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.