Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Fallen Leaves

I telephoned the hospital in England this afternoon and learned that my father died yesterday. He was 89 and had been ill for several weeks.

The news still came as a shock even if it was expected.

Now he's gone
Lord he's gone
Like a steam locomotive rolling down the track
He's gone, gone, and nothing's gonna bring him back
He's gone


Words by Robert Hunter. Music by Jerry Garcia.

As you can imagine, it took a lot of effort to get out of the house to go and take today's photograph. My mind was somewhat preoccupied.

These fallen live oak leaves seemed to sum up today's news and my reaction to it -- sad and sombre.

I am also a little puzzled as to why no one could be bothered to inform me. The nurse was surprised that no one had been in touch. Oh well.

At the moment, I feel as though my presence is not wanted at the funeral and I feel disinclined to make the journey back to the UK. Perhaps, I will feel differently once the shock has subsided.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.