Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Peace, Love and Cake!

Went to my hairdresser's in Avondale today in preparation for the eventual trip back to the UK. Still no news regarding the date of my departure. As the saying goes, "No news is good news."

Courtney, my hairdresser and a sweet person, informed me that she is leaving the salon. She has had enough, as have the other girls who work there, of the moods, pettiness and bizarre mindset of the salon owner.

The owner proudly proclaimed on Friday that the earthquake and tsunami in Japan were "a sign from Jesus". Obviously, she has never heard of tectonic plates and the Pacific Ring of Fire.

I think Courtney and the other girls are making the right move. Courtney has already found a place at another salon and she gave me the contact details before I left.

The new salon is not as convenient but in Courtney I have the best hairdresser I have ever had and, unlike many hairdressers, she provides interesting conversation rather than a synopsis of the latest installment of Dancing With The Stars. That's the owner's territory. :-)

I had a short walk to finish my Diet Coke and smoke a cigarette and came across this sign outside a bakery. I liked the allusion to the Hippy message, a little more uppermost in my mind with the news of the death of Owsley Stanley whom I met backstage at the Oakland Coliseum in 1994. The colours of the sign and chalks also caught my eye and appealed to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.