Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Clothes Tree

The news from the UK is getting worse. I think within the next 24 hours, 48 hours at most, a life will draw to its end. Despite feeling sad, I was determined to get out of the house and take a photograph. Better than just moping around and unable to concentrate on anything.

I had a photograph in mind and set off to the location. On the way, I saw this palm tree with these articles of clothing -- t-shirts, jackets, I'm not quite sure -- attached to it. There were no workman nearby who had maybe used the tree to hang their clothes. Why they had been hung up is a mystery.

Still, it made for an unusual shot and a better one than the one I had intended to post today. There's always tomorrow for that one.

I learned this weekend that Duval County Schools, basically that is all the Jacksonville schools since the city of Jacksonville and Duval County share the same boundaries, are planning to stop all school athletics programmes in an attempt to reduce the $97 million budget shortfall, in part due to the State of Florida withdrawing its subsidies as part of Governor Scott's education budget cuts.

Interestingly enough, Scott spent a reported $78 million in his election campaign. It is easy to see where his priorities lie and it is not with the welfare and well-being of ordinary folk.

And in five to 10 years time when juvenile crime and the school drop-out rates have reached all time highs in Jacksonville, what will Scott's response be. I doubt he will even care as he will more than likely have relocated to the Bahamas to be closer to his off-shore funds.

More fool the rednecks who voted him into office but it is the rest of us who have to pay the price.

For nature lovers, I spotted tree swallows flying round this evening. To me they looked very much like the house martins back in England. I guess summer must have come to Florida. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.