Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Red & Blue

Yesterday, I saw a shot taken by fellow blipper Mountain Joe. He has the Nikon version of my Zeiss lens and shot with it wide open. The result was superb.

I tend to shy away from f/1.4 for two reasons. The Zeiss lens is not as sharp wide open and obviously the DOF at that aperture is extremely thin. Given my focusing problems at the best of times, I feel it is probably in my interest to steer clear of f/1.4.

But after seeing Mountain Joe's picture, I wanted to try shooting wide open. The first series of shots confirmed what I already knew, regarding achieving sharp focus. The second series of shots, featuring a camelia, fared a little better and best of all was the swirling blue bokeh.

The shot may not be the sharpest in terms of focus but that bokeh and the red of the bloom made it worthy of posting.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.