Deja View

By dejaview

VIPs


When I was training to be a teacher, many years ago, I was told that the two most important people on a school's staff are the caretaker and the secretary. Over the years this has proved to be true...there is nothing that a good school secretary doesn't know - everybody's secrets, family situations etc; they are usually pretty good at keeping confidences too.

Likewise the caretakers, they know where everything is, they are mines of information; but they also tend to be rather grumpy - most of the caretakers I have known have enjoyed whiling away the time by complaining about their lot.. although I have always followed the rule and got on with them.

Nowadays, as the subject of today's blip told me he is known as a Site Manager, no longer a caretaker. This one broke the mould...he is absolutely great - he knows every child by name and knows all their families. He has a wonderful way of talking to the children, he never belittles them but is firm if necessary. He is on site from 6 every morning,he does playground duties every day, he is on duty at lunchtime too. He stays until about 6p.m, but if there is anything going on at the school in the evening he is on hand to make sure all is well. On top of all this it is the cleanest, most pleasant school I have ever worked in. He takes a pride in his work and expects everyone - staff and children to do the same ....and they do!

He was so thrilled when I asked him if I could take his photo and explained that it might be seen in countries all over the world. He is truly a VIP, the world would be a poorer place if there weren't characters like him in it. Unfortunately there seem to be fewer of them about these days, or maybe I'm just feeling my age tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.