Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Shoots

Well, the day started peacefully enough. Woke up to the traditional Welsh sound of sheep baaing (fortunately not in the garden this time), breakfast, and a walk round my host's "estate", during which I took this picture of a bush that had clearly decided the growing season is upon it!

Then I drove about half way home, and, while waiting for my friend Mar in a car park (glam life, isn't it?) I checked my iPhone for messages etc. The Wonderspouse had posted the following in his facebook status:

following the general principle of "it's never that simple", we have oil supplies - Yay!!! the boiler is "totally f****d" (technical term) - not yay!!! We have no alternative but to be provided with a brand new boiler - YAYYY!! It'll be a few days - not yay!
Overall yay! quotient - about plus 0.6 - in a week we we'll be sorted!!


So, my plan - to get home after a few days away and a long drive and then have a long hot bath with a book was scuppered yet again by the "unreliable combi" (polite phrase - not the actual words used in this house).

However, I went on to spend a fab afternoon with Mar and her daughter, so wasn't really particularly downhearted. I then drove home, and in lieu of a hot bath drank wine until I was nearly comatose and no longer noticed how smelly I was!

Then sank, filthy, into filthy sheets, in a freezing cold bedroom!

It was lovely to be home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.