Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Five Rams

Well, today is shaping up to be slightly different from what I expected!

First off, my friend is not working in junior schools today, so I shall not be playing the viola to junior school children like I did last time. We shall however, be doing some playing and rehearsing for a future concert.

Second off, these five gentlemen caused a great deal of chaos this morning!

I looked out of the window shortly after getting up and said, jokingly "gosh, you can tell you're in Wales - there's a sheep in the garden!". As it turned out, there were actually five of them roaming around, and my friend's response was "Oh no, hope they don't come in the house like they did before!"

Anyway, shortly after that, a farmer showed up with his dog and a trailer to try to retrieve these five (who, it transpired, had escaped because a gate hadn't been properly closed). There followed a highly comical hour, during which the three of us tried to round them up, with my friend & the farmer shouting at each other and at the boys in Welsh. The sheepdog took one look at the biggest ram and decided it didn't want to go there, so it was ultimately left to the farmer to do the final rounding up!

Meantime, since I'm not Welsh and don't see this sort of thing every day (where I live is rural, but nowhere near as rural as this place), I took several photos and was highly amused by the whole thing!

Once the sheep situation had been sorted and we'd had a cup of tea to recover, we went down to town for lunch. Playing is scheduled for later, and I return home tomorrow. The Wonderspouse has informed me that heating oil is being delivered to home today, so, with a bit of luck, everything will be as normal as it ever is in our house and in my life by the time I get home!

Baaaaa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.