Jess & Molly Law

By jml

What will last?

This is another fragment of my 'property report', continued from yesterday.

This time, I mention Blipfoto, which is something new in my life since the last time I prepared one of these reports.

My intention in placing these reports in rarely-accessed places is to provide something of interest to whoever owns this house long after I have gone. I hope that someone will find one of my documents in 50 or so years' time, and will take the trouble to do a little research on the people who went before.

This raises the question: "Will Blipfoto be here in 50 years time?". Think of the huge organization it takes to keep it functioning today. If the organization falls by the wayside, will the resource remain?

To put it another way, will my simple piece of paper (with a couple of photographs) outlast my online journal with Blip? Or will my hypothetical researchers be able to look up Blipfoto to find what else I wrote?

There is a related discussion on one of the Forums. Perhaps I should go there and add a few words.

(The fragment above has two Blip-Photos: here and here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.