The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Resting place

On the way back from attending to my voluntary duties today I popped into the overflow cemetery in West Street, Farnham. I'd never been in before although I walked by 100s of times. Anyway, I thought these graves all looked pretty restful in the calming shadow of the tree. It belies the very noisy traffic behind me but, fortunately, you can't hear that in the blip.

Because today's blip doesn't include a history lesson, and to complete yesterday's blip, I have discovered that the inventor of the tap, in general terms, is unknown but dates from the neolithic (I like to think his name was Fawcett the Hairy). However, the inventor of the tap as we know it today is possibly J.H. Davis who filed a patent on a globe valve which is the type of tap we use today with the round handle.

Of course, we all know it was probably Mrs Davis, who was sick of having to plug up the end of a pipe with an old rag and figured it was a waste of time waiting for her husband to get around to inventing it and did it herself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.