just allan

By allan

Truly Madly Deeply

A Scottish delicacy with the reflection of St. Paul´s & St. Georges Church, Edinburgh. Cafe Piccante at the top of Broughton Street certainly knows its market. This is a chip shop with a live DJ on weekend nights, the neon lights advertising "Fish & Chips", "Pizza & Kebabs", "Burgers and Beer".

Reminds me of 15 years ago living in Dundee, a beautiful girl worked in the chip shop I used sometimes near my flat. I really wanted to speak to her, so I asked about the Deep Fried Mars Bars on the menu. "Do people really buy those?"
She looked at me as if I was from another planet and replied "Aw the swee'ies ur in ba'ur." Which roughly translates as , "Certainly sir, and I can prepare any confectionery of your choice in that manner."

I retreated to my home planet with my Jumbo Haggis Supper.

Music: today I've been trying to get into the Caribou album I picked up. I'm getting there, I think Found Out did it for me. Shades of Joy Division, Four Tet and some 80s Tears for Fears type synth pop. Loud + headphones is my recommendation.

EDIT: After handing my £10 into the Axolotl Gallery, they gave me a big thanks in their email newsletter =) Well, you're welcome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.