My Aim is True

By MAiT

Gamble

The Nelson Monument was lit up in green tonight as it's Paddy's Day.

I don't have too much of a problem with it being celebrated over here. Much like Valentine's and Mother's day gives retail a boost, so I am sure that St Patrick's gives pubs a boost.

I know that it's a popular day in Ireland dating back to the times when folk used to give up things for Lent. It falls during lent so they were allowed a day off their abstinence. (Who'd have thought, eh. Religious people looking for loopholes, eh?)

But why are we lighting up our monuments (and the Nelson's monument? From what I recall the Irish don't like monuments with anything to do with Nelson....)

Anyway.

I am trying to work out if I should accept the invitation I have for tomorrow. It has the potential to be a great night, but could also be a disaster. I may end up spending a bit of cash. And I really should be being careful with money at the moment. ARGH. I don't know what to do.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.