wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

It's a... umm... ahh... What is it?

It's an echidna! These are the Australia equivalent of the hedgehog, although I'm told even that description is stretching it... They're ant eating, spiny animals, who rustle about in the undergrowth, snuffling along the ground looking for ant nests. This is our 'pet' echidna - he lives somewhere in our garden, and appears occasionally when we're outside.

They have terrible eyesight, and don't seem to mind people all that much - I got pretty close to this guy when I walked past on my way to get the camera. But then again, would you be scared when you're covered with spines, and can flatten yourself into the ground in a blink, leaving only spikes to grab? Add to that the fact they're often surrounded by angry ants, and I'm certainly not going to disturb their dinners...

Thanks for the comments yesterday! I'm glad to have brought some bounce into your day. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.