wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Old School

This is my dad's old Nikkormat camera, bought in the 70s (he thinks). It came out of the cupboard after I mentioned my need to buy some UV filters, and there was great joy when we discovered the old Nikon filter fitted mine. Theoretically the lens would too, size wise, but I'm not game to try anything like that.

It's a pretty cool machine, with a case that attaches to the camera, lots of numbers in different colours, along with several dials of unidentified purpose. One, we think, might be a level.

I took about 100 shots, testing different settings and buttons and lights. Deleted about 90. Still perfecting the art of targeting the focus, but getting the hang of other bits and pieces. The shop I bought it from offers free online courses in using dSLRs, but I have to wait until Easter when I'll have time to look (once I register, access only lasts for 2 weeks). Until then I'll just have to make do with the manual and a great deal of experimentation. "Make do". It's not really making do when it's such fun. :)

Wasn't sure what to blip today, haven't been quite 100% so didn't really feel like being proactive about finding something, but was hoping maybe the 'supermoon' would be a possibility. The clouds, however, seem fairly determined to stay so I suspect that may not be an option. Will keep an eye out though, and may have to swap photos. Probably should have just not posted until later hey? Oh well. I'll work something out, quite like this shot anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.