horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Backwards Glance

This moment made me smile this morning, on a nicer morning to be shooting cyclists heading through the Meadows than two days ago.

Ah, Friday, tis forever the day I'm dreaming of during the working week. Spent part of this morning sorting out some pictures for the Veolia Wildlife Photography Awards - actually using some I had set aside for the British Wildlife Photography Awards, but their closing date isn't till June, by which time I'll know if anything here is shortlisted. Most have been blips of one sort or another. There's the Waxwing Scrum naturally; and a different shot taken the same day as this other Waxwing blip; a recent Fox Visit for the urban wildlife category; as well as a slightly different version of my Toasty Squirrel in the same category (the shot linked in there as 'nommed' I think); there was, what I think is one of my best shots, a Dipper peeping out of the shade; and a portrait exercise using the Gannet Eye piece of this montage; with lastly a Breaching Basking Shark (which isn't photographically that marvellous, but which is incredibly rare to catch on camera - go on Google it, see what you find!).

I doubt I'll get anywhere with any of them (and I might add a few, the entry fee allows up to 20 entries) but it's fun to try, and even just making a shortlist with one would be immense.

In other news I had a look at a bike today that was too small for me; and the first issue of volume 2 of citycycling, which went online about 6 weeks ago, has been courting controversy in one piece which could lead to an interesting counter-article (and has an open coffee-meet invitation floating out there).

But for the time being, it's almost the weekend, Bia Bistrot beckons for an evening meal, and I'm hoping the sun keeps its promise and lets me play with the new lens a bit...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.