horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Taken to Tache

This rather spiffing tache was serving in what is possibly my new favourite coffee house in the city, Artisan Roast on Broughton Street (which is sadly quite a distance from where I work now, and even further from where I will be working from next month). In the current climate a saunter along to meet a cycling acquaintance for a brew, an exchange of books, and receipt of cash for some mudguards, was possible, and desirable. The owner of the marvellous top lip adornment was remarkably shy about having his photo taken when asked, but acquiesced long enough for a single frame.

And so his tache edges out the frankly superb lighting from the room out the back.

On the walk back to the office (urgh, conference call coming up) I spotted this slightly, how shall I put it, quirky sense of fashion, sporting a flat cap and tweed suit jacket, jogging pants that had some sort of Pringle adornment, hoedown boots, and carrying a manbag that looked distinctly like it wasn't... He was nattering into his mobile most of the way and had the plummiest of accents. He disappeared into a doorway on Heriot Row/Abercromby Place.

And other than that there was a manifestly untrue sign... It was a blipful lunchtime really.

Not much else to report really. Though heading home last night a Jackson Hart Plumbers white van man decided that here was the most sensible place to try and overtake me when I was on the bike. Narrow enough anyway, but I was riding slightly right because of surfacing like this, and to top it off, through this mere 60m section of narrowing I was keeping pace with a Volvo XC90 ahead of me (which had cut me up to get there before the roadworks began), which was less than a car length in front. Where on earth he thought he was going I don't know. I stayed behind him for the next two miles before he turned off (and with the traffic at Jock's Lodge I would have then sailed by). But hey, I'm on a bike and therefore slow and therefore must be passed no matter what the cost.

I may yet write a complaint to them, which I had formulated in my head the rest of the ride to be as caustic and, well, witty, as possible - it'll make it here if I write it tonight.

So yes. Better day today thus far... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.