Crossing a Bridge

My daughter, who begged me to let her take violin lessons, is generally loathe to practice when told. Her teacher suggested she take part in a recital, saying that a performance often motivates kids. My skepticism was only reinforced as my daughter has been just as difficult and whiny about practicing for the past several weeks since she's known about the upcoming performance.

The recital is in three days. As we went to her lesson today, I felt that she's completely unprepared, but she doesn't seem to be bothered in the slightest that she misses notes and keeps a crazy tempo. She and the teacher went over the song over a half dozen times.

After her lesson, we met with the accompanist to rehearse. To everyone's delight (and my astonishment), she played her piece perfectly. It really was so lovely, and my eyes even welled up. When we got home, she wanted to practice it over and over again. Fingers crossed that this newly found motivation carries over to Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.