A chef's day...

By chef

Freaky Ham Hock

I bought 10 ham hocks and boiled them in a stock for 24 hours. When I took them out one of them had this funny pattern coming out of the bonemarrow. I have never seen this and it looked very freaky.
But, tomorrow I will be making ham hock terrines and I am going to serve it with a shot of pea soup, and something else which is still to be decided and maybe melba toast too.

2 more days and then my new Sous Chef starts. I hope it'll work out nicely. Spring is now here and I'm looking forward to the first shoots of wild garlic coming up. Not long now too until the St George's mushrooms pop up. I love wild mushrooms and I love finding them. By the middle of july the first girolles will start coming out, then the hedgehogs and then the cepes. Morelles are a spring mushroom too and delicious with asparagus. Samphire, peas, broad beans, raspberries, strawberries, lobsters, bring on the spring and summer!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.