Ice-cream queue

It was a day of blue skies and warm sun, so Fred and I headed to the seaside for a long walk. Starting in Brighton, we walked along the seafront, passing hoards of day trippers and locals basking by the Palace Pier. We gawped at the bits of the West Pier that are up for sale - I'm sure there must be some choice parts of Victorian iron that would look lovely f painted.

At Hove, the queue for the Marrocco's ice-cream parlour was impressive. I quite liked the pigeon street art on Medina House next door. Medina House was built as a Turkish Baths and was used by a diamond cutter afterwards. In World War II, it became a temporary hospital. Squatters moved in around the late 90s and used it as a gallery space. They were evicted in 2007, but I guess some folks are still using it as a gallery space, on the outside at least.

After Hove, the walk became a little more industrial, moving into Shoreham Port. There, we saw M112 - a Royal Navy Minehunter ship. Then we spied a bus and jumped on it back to Brighton. Eerily it took the same bus route as the one that hit me back in 1997 (when I wasn't looking - it was my fault!) I grimaced as it turned the corner at that box junction, but since I have no memory of the actual impact, it was more of a groan of how stupid I had been and what my parents and friends went through. I have to say that I'm more than cautious when crossing a road now. I always wait for the green man and panic when there isn't a crossing to stop the traffic. Especially if there's a double-decker coming my way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.