Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Baby wearing

"Oh gosh,
Stop right there Molly!"

Half expecting everyone to see what I could see and busily take out their iPhones or other devices upon seeing something so utterly adorable that it made my heart skip a beat, I was met only with "What?", shortly followed by "As a photographer, shouldn't you just be able to snap and capture it?", upon asking Molly to pause, ah but for an oh-so-sweet-moment more.

As Mamas and some Daddy's prepare lunch for the little toddlers at UCLA, this one lovely Mama who recently wrote me a letter bearing such kind and nostalgic sentiments of support, baby wearing, was demonstrating the essentials of multi tasting. Lunch prep for her daughter S and tending to baby. It brings back memories of Callum in the same carrier. Did anyone see the same, his sweet little hands peering through.

Delightful Baby H whom Callum utterly adores and makes me crave still further for another child I know I will never have. Funny, always wanting a large family and stretching myself far too far medically to have my boys. I've never ruled out adoption, attending a course through the state, but unable at the time to commit further.

Molly later replied upon seeing the images caught in the sort of ghastly indoor fluorescent lighting which I know not what to do with, "OK, OK, I now see what you saw yesterday. Thanks for sharing and offering a glimpse of a moment through your eyes." The carrier is worn, having been worn by her 3 children and I wanted to leave it just like that in pp.

Makes me smile. 

Great day really. My friend Angela gifted me a full body massage, a first for me. Wow, I was in bodily heaven afterwards, transported to a beach in Thailand. And in the evening, I pottered off for a date night with myself for the King's Speech.

Some lovely news. Had 3 shoots taken, two maternitys of the boys and one newborn for Callum. Approaching the photographer again from whom I purchased many prints at the time, she's agreed to sell me the original RAW files so that I can edit and make coffee table books from the 3 sessions. A huge number of images from an exceptionally talented studio photographer, they're a record of when I was most content with myself and I can't wait now to give them my own look and feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.