Constant Exposure

By constant

Franken9 - It's alive!

Funny, I just started playing Bioshock today and this image looks like it could be something from that game. However, that is just a coincidence and not the reason I took the picture.

The thingamajig attached to the camera is a "Joby". I got it yesterday while my wife and I were walking around town. I wanted an easy-to-carry table top tripod for my point and shoot camera, mainly so I can take long exposures if the need arises. The guy in the store sold me the Joby.

When I got home and tried it out, I discovered that it's no good for doing long exposures. In fact, I'd be better off doing hand held shots, which gives you an idea how bad it is. The problem is it acts like a spring; it amplifies movement. It is useful for shots with fast shutter speeds, as you can use it to mount the camera on various objects and get yourself into the picture.

So for my blip today I tried to show the "wobble" factor of the Joby. I did a 2 second exposure and vibrated the table to cause the G9 to shake. The idea was that the G9 would turn out blurry while the Joby, and the rest of the image, would be sharp. It worked, but the effect was too subtle. I was hoping for more of a motion blur effect, but instead it just looked like it was out of focus. So that was that. I settled for posting a straight up shot of the camera and Joby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.