just allan

By allan

Room 202

George Street, Edinburgh, 5.01pm. "Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society - was founded at this site - 1809". Now though, it's one of those great big pubs that used to be great big banks. The inexorable slide from worthy to "we're not worthy" is documented in - and on - the buildings.

I think I'd put those great big pubs in "Room 101" - but since the RCHS is 202 years old, let's put them in Room 202. (See what I did there? boom boom!)

I spotted this plaque with its rays-of-the-sun motif yesterday and took some shots on the way to the pub (No, I'm not worthy either). In retrospect I was running late and that was about 5.20pm.

So this evening I thought I'd try to shoot it again. I got to George Street just before 5pm, when the south side of the street was still in shade. Damn. My bus is at 5.10pm, and then I remembered that Malcolm really needs new gym shoes. Was it worth waiting for the sun? Dilemma. I stood in the busy crowd and... Looked at the sky. Looked at the shadows.

Time passes. Listen. Time passes.

I shot off to BHS via Rose Street and picked up the last size 5 gym shoes they had (the lad's 9 and wearing age 12 trousers...) and then decided to check George Street again. Less than 10 minutes til the bus goes. The light had just crept around enough to illuminate the plaque.

I took my shots, then sauntered off to the bus station, should only take 3 or 4 minutes. Oh, but that statues's nice in this light. Oh, and those flowers are pretty. Oh, and... Oh sh** it's 5.09pm! Run!

I made it, and I got the shots. How exciting ;)

Notes to self:
1. The sun is shining straight down George Street at 5pm.
2. The clocks "Spring Forward" this weekend. So...
3. On Monday the shadows at 6pm will be perfectly at 6-of-the-clock...
4. I think I see a plan forming - "Sundialling, George Street, Edinburgh, 6.01pm."
5. Watch this space!

Music: Mark Hollis's "Colour of Spring". And relax...
Mark's old band Talk Talk are an 80's enigma. After a few mega-hits they went all Mad and Jazzy. My funeral should consist of a complete playing of "Spirit of Eden", just so I can make people listen to it. Wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.