Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

First Glimpse

This has been the first color I have seen so far this spring.

Maybe I haven't looked closely enough.  "They" say the tree pollen is very high, but I've noticed no growth.  

It actually rained a little last night (I heard some sprinkles on a skylight), the first rain in, oh, a couple of months? So maybe we'll get a little spurt of wild flowers soon.  With my luck, I'll probably just get some weeds come up through the stones in my yard.  Remember, I don't have any grass.

The temperature was down in the fifties most of the day, just enough to put a little chill in the house.  I thought I'd put the furnace on for a few minutes, just to nip it out.  But it didn't turn on.  

I had it serviced last week.  It turned out upon my service call today that when the technician installed a part last week, he turned off a breaker and never turned it on again.  Since I've had no use for heat or air for over a month, I wouldn't have noticed it until the temps started to rise into the mid-nineties.

I was pretty fortunate I caught it now when I could get same day service.  As soon as it gets hot, people without contracts have units go out on them and businesses do a bang up air conditioning business.

I'm looking forward to April and May.  Warm temperatures, sunny skies and blooming flora.  You might not think of the desert as a beautiful place but in spring, especially, it's a special place to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.