A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Dad's Short Term Memory

Café conversation:

Him: "There was a woman murdered in Big Rock."

Me, wishing for just a bit more info, like where and when did he read this or hear this: You mean, recently? Or a long time ago? Because I'm thinking, yea, there might have been a woman murdered in Big Rock - once.

Him: "Monday."

In the car on the way home:

Him: "Yea, she was 69 years old, I think."

Me, my patience feeling extremely strained: Did they find her dead and are they thinking it was murder or was it definitely murder? But of course he interrupts me before I'm done, because he doesn't even know I'm talking. I know better than to even attempt a conversation in the car when his 'good' ear is away from me.

Him: "Yep, they found her dead. They know it was murder. They didn't give too many details though, like whether she was home alone or what."

About now I'm wishing I had the energy to ask more questions, like how she was murdered, if he knew. But I keep my mouth shut, although I'm grimacing through the act.

Back at home:

Now curious if someone really was murdered in Big Rock, I pull yesterday's (Tuesday) paper from the recycling bin and turn to page three. The headline is:

Trial Begins for Big Rock Woman Accused of Murder


Well, at least he got some of the facts right: 'Big Rock woman' and 'murder.'

Ahhhhhhh! It doesn't matter, it doesn't matter, it doesn't matter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.