Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Long Way Home

Warm sun, birdsong, the courting of butterflies and the fresh smell of chlorophyll; yep, today's felt more like summer than spring. Couldn't resist a walk out to the river, and ended up with at least a dozen shots that I'd have been overjoyed to blip any day of the week. But after a lot of agonising, I've settled on this.

A ladybird seems to be making its way along the river path to Glasson, a walk which takes well over an hour for a six-foot biped like me. For an insect, the journey could take an entire lifetime. Maybe the garden at Glasson's Victoria Inn is full of ladybirds relaxing over a communal pint, looking out over the estuary and congratulating themselves on having made it.

Times like this I find myself wishing I had a proper camera, perhaps with one of those macro lens thingies, so you could see everything down to the expression on the ladybird's face. But I don't, so we'll just have to keep our distance and watch quietly as it continues its immense trek.

What's that? You'd quite like to hear some Tom Waits to go with it? Well, since you ask nicely...


Well I stumbled in the darkness
I'm lost and alone
Though I said I'd go before us
And show the way back home
Is there a light up ahead
I can't hold on very long
Forgive me pretty baby, but I always take the long way home

Money's just something you throw
Off the back of a train
Got a handful of lightning
A hat full of rain
And I know that I said
I'd never do it again
And I love you pretty baby, but I always take the long way home

I put food on the table
And a roof overhead
But I'd trade it all tomorrow
For the highway instead
Watch your back if I should tell you
That love's the only thing I've ever known
One thing for sure pretty baby, I always take the long way home

You know I love you baby
More than the whole wide world
You are my woman
I know you are my pearl
Let's go out past the party lights
Where we can finally be alone
Come with me and we can take the long way home
Come with me, together we can take the long way home

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.