Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Sheep

Ever since my childhood, when school holidays in the spring and summer meant heading out of the grey smog of the Black Country and into the verdant farmland of Worcestershire, Herefordshire and Gloucestershire, I've had an odd affection for the countryside. Yes, it can get a bit twee in the more touristy areas, it usually has more Tories per square mile than my temper can handle, and it often stinks of shit for no good reason. But if you're willing to overlook these minor flaws, a trip through rural England's always worthwhile.

Well, as I've had the luxury of being left to my own devices for a second day running, and the sun's been beating down once again, I decided to go for a walk in the general direction of Clougha Pike. The walk ended up lasting about five hours, but it was worth it for the fresh air and tranquility, as well as the bliportunities. I don't think I've ever blipped sheep before, but these ones were amazingly tame, so I couldn't resist.

Song for today: a lesser-known gem from one of the most-underrated (but sadly, worst-dressed) bands of the Eighties.


Sometimes I get so angry with the simple life they lead
The shepherd's smile seems to confirm my fears
They've never questioned anything, they've never disagreed
Sometimes I think they must have wool in their ears
And where you see a cane, I see a crook
And where you see a crowd, I see a flock
It's sheep we're up against

When I was young they used to get me counting sheep
But the counting I did was all in vain
Now when I'm tired and I'm trying to get to sleep
I count humans jumping onto trains

And where you see a cane, I see a crook
And where you see a crowd, I see a flock
It's sheep we're up against

(Lyrics: Paul Heaton)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.