Dereliction gets a face lift in Lisbon

One of the things I liked best about Lisbon was the city's beautiful architecture. I did notice a good number of derelict old buildings in the city centre. Street artists have been given permission to paint the facades of some of these buildings. This house was beside the Saldanha shopping mall. I would imagine that not everyone is wild about the idea although I personally like it. However, there's no denying that more lasting solutions are needed to regenerate a city's crumbling infrastructure. We have the same problem in Belgium - a lot of dilapidated old buildings standing empty, waiting for a large infusion of money to restore them or, more likely, the wrecker's ball. A sad state of affairs everywhere.

+


Other examples of street art on old Lisbon buildings are here..

I also like this one by Polaroid Blips.

My last day in Lisbon. I'll definitely be back!


~ a backblip (more backblips to come eventually)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.