walking in the city

By inthecity

Texas chili in California

San Francisco: day 22
Today I returned to Berkeley to drop in on my friend's digital media workshop and help with whatever necessary. I couldn't have imagined it would be so fun.

As is tradition, J and his fabulous wife N throw a big party for all the participants back at their place. N is away this week, so while J made chili from a family recipe I baked corn bread from a mix. Then I played 'Fruit Ninja' with their 8-year-old daughter while he picked up his son from theater club. The party guests arrived with flowers, pies, fruit and chocolate. Plenty of wine too.

Before we all ate, he gathered the party guests together and told us about the chili cook-offs from his younger days in Texas. He stood at the stove and served.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.