Woodburn Comp...

I would have normally put the word Skate in that title but alas the skate contingent of the competition we (SkateboardScotland) ran today, amounted to 2 entrants. The rest of the 14 or so participants were riding either scooters or BMX. Doesn't bother us all that much as these wee comps can be nice wee earners to help us put more money back into other events.

Today I spotted a couple of things that reinforced some theories I have on current trends in younger people.

Firstly, one of the scooters in the comp had stunt pegs (extra long pegs at the wheels which allow them to do grinds and stalls on edges of ramps) which tells me that my theory that scooters are due for a bit of a popularity burst has a bit of weight.

Secondly, I noticed a few of the boys in trackie bottoms with both their hands down the front of their trousers. I've seen this a couple of times recently but this seems to be a more and more common occurrence that I don't really understand. I don't remember seeing this practice when I was that age but maybe I just didn't travel in those circles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.