LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Skin and Bones

We had whole baked fish with fennel and white wine this evening. I love the feeling when you've finished the top of the fish and you get hold of the tail and peel the whole thing back to reveal the juicy layer of meat underneath.

Drove back up from Cramlington, rather unevenfully with the exception of stopping at a pub called The Red Lion somewhere up the A68 (I think). Very nice lunch and I think we will have to go back there on one of our many jaunts up and down between Edinburgh and Newcastle. I had a very nice pint of Mordue Spring Tyne to accompany my black pudding, crispy bacon and poached egg salad and Jen's chicken goujons were fairly nice and such a boig portion we thought we'd been given a main course instead of starter size.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.