thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Sedgemoor battlefield

I'd never been to the site of the Battle of Sedgemoor and as it's not far from where I work, I took myself off at lunchtime to have a look. Unfortunately the journey took longer than I'd expected so I had very little time there. Fortunately there wasn't a lot to see - the best I could do was snap this information board at the car park.

The battle took place in July 1685 and was the last major battle on English soil. The Duke of Monmouth had raised an army to challenge his uncle King James II for the throne. The king's army defeated his here at Westonzoyland in the Somerset Levels, thus putting an end to the Monmouth Rebellion.

The Monmouth supporters captured were tried and dealt with mercilessly in a series of assizes across the west country. I recently blipped the Oak Room in Dorchester, which was used for the trial.

Related items:

Judge Jeffreys' lodgings in Dorchester
Judge Jeffreys' sign

Thanks toSaffi who has pointed out that she's already said all of this in her blip of 1 March 2011 She's given the whole story very succinctly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.