Small Priorities of a Small Person...

Oh, we had a disaster situation last night at bedtime.

Bethany got a wee plastic star from a friend at nursery a couple of weeks ago. A quite unremarkable wee thing that was possibly a sticker earlier in it's lifetime. It was small, about 1 cm across, redish in colour with smiley face and pink cheeks. Inspite of it's diminuative size and being well travelled, Bethany never seemed to lose it until Sunday past.

At the time I managed to placate her by telling her I'd ask mummy to look for it as it was in the vicinty of mummy's shop that it went missing. Last night, Bethany remembered about it and there was no consoling her. She was bawling her eyes out because we couldn't promise that we'd be able to find it.

The only thing that let her get to sleep was my suggestion that I make her a new one. I asked her for the measurement, provided in finger and thumb approximation, which she went along with my idea to make it slightly bigger so as it was harder to lose. I headed downstairs and got to work.

A bit of drawing, a bit of colouring, a touch of glitter and couple of layers of glue later and today I gave her the new star when I got home.

Thankfully, she loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.