Plus ça change...

By SooB

It's all in the details

Today was a very fine day. Perhaps it is benefitting from comparison with yesterday, but I think in a head to head with almost any day from the last six months; today would be in with a chance.

My home school pupils were smiley, willing and earnest and I'm delighted to report that all toys have been released from toy purgatory. We had some possibly good news, and made some decisions on other matters, and I had a surprise call and nice chat with an old friend. And in the afternoon we headed out for a walk. It was a circular walk this time - avoiding therefore that horrible moment where the kids realise when you turn around that you're only half way, and they've seen it all before. We wandered alongside a stream, through woodland thronged with birds flitting over the wild garlic, up around a deserted mill. Then on to a cliff-top folly (I hadn't noticed the cliff when the kids were pretending to fight dragons just on top of it...) and down to a country house with lovely gardens of spring flowers to wander about in. And back to the car via a garage for sweeties for everyone!*

Steak for dinner, and a movie to come. I am indeed spoilt.

So, after all that, all I'm giving you is a monochrome dead seed head. Just because it's not my kind of thing and I felt like branching out. One day I may even bring you monochrome concrete. One day.


*Refreshers for me. Not had those since I was about nine. As soon as I popped one in my mouth I was right back in the 70s... Conor loved them too but did spot their fatal flaw (for grown ups, a positive advantage when you're six): they make you burp. How could I have forgotten that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.