Nastia's Slow Little Days

By Anastasia

Juniper, Eggs-periments, and General Springiness

*Raises hand in HIMYM-style salute to General Springiness*

Will update journal after posting; actually cooking part of dinner for once, while roommate works late. Woah.

So updating...

Went for a photo walk this afternoon, and took this shot straight off the bat. Keep waiting for these little guys to sprout and so keep blipping them. Boy, do I love digital photo development, or what? (I spent the early part of the day, after I woke up, watching some videos on analog development for 120 film and other lomography-related tips, since I need to get more into my solstice present.)

I had two strangers approach me related to my photography, which was highly unusual. The first interaction was just weird, where one guy wanted me to take a photo of his older, supposedly famous friend. The second was less awkward, and I got a chance to talk about my Canon Rebel. I sounded much less stupid and much more knowledgeable about why "my" camera is so awesome ... than I expected, that is.

Anyway, I went out with an egg tucked away in a saved plastic container from that Whole Foods sushi photographed at home earlier in the month. Roommate had showed me a video a while ago about a beginner's photography experiment or lesson with an egg. You have to go out and scout for a spot for your shoot. Once you find a spot, set down your egg. You now will not be able to move it at all for the duration of your shoot. Take a photo of your egg from five different vantage points. This eggs-periment is supposed to teach you lots about light. I guess I'm at more of an intermediate level now, since I was already looking for interesting light and shadows for the spot where I would set my egg before I even got started. But that's why some of my b/w results turned out so cool! The color shots I took afterwards were a bit more lackluster somehow, though nothing in any of the other settings had changed. Weird how that works. The eggs-periment called for 5 different shots, but I aimed for approximately 12 unique views, thinking of fellow Blipper, 12Views, though 12 in that case implies slightly more variation. Will be posting that photo to Flickr before the day (err, week!) is through and shall give y'all a link here:Eggs-periment photos!

I came home and discovered that I am now allergic to juniper bushes, or at least the conditions were just right for an allergic reaction on my behalf. I grew up in a house framed by a gajillion juniper bushes. Should I still pursue a future in landscape architecture? I'm not so sure today.

All in all, great day. And it's only 5:55. And I already got in a Blip. Wild.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.